The Indian Within

Being Indian is not just about belonging to India. It is more of a feeling and embracing of of our diverse culture, with all its rites and rituals, it’s intricacies and superstitions. People might comment that an Indian is more Indian abroad than in their own country. Does that mean, that being an Indian abroad is a matter of pride but, within the motherland an Indian is conservative. To some extent this reflection is true but, is it always true? The answer is no. Pride in our country and being an Indian is our most important asset. But, as always the grass is greener on the other side. And once there, we realise what was once common and everyday is now unique and a thing to cherish. My belief is that, this is the true reason behind trying to be more Indian abroad. After all, in a land far from home, it is just our culture, festivals, beliefs and practices that will keep us as Indian as we want to be.

Being in India we do not consider our uniqueness as special. This is because the majority of the population is same and no purpose is solved in trying to be different. In fact, different would be trying to be rebellious and doing the exact opposite. It is almost like telling a child what to do and what not. In spite of these instructions the child will always do what is forbidden. We too are just like that child – trying to be naughty. But, the truth is that the child will be naughty only when in their very own safe environment and so is true for us. All our rebellions are contained in our country. When away from the motherland we recognise it’s true worth and strive for being its true representative.

Remember the pledge that we all have taken everyday in school in our country – 

“India is my country and all Indians are my brothers and sisters. I love my country and I am proud of its rich and varied heritage. I shall always strive to be worthy of it.I shall give respect to my parents, teachers and elders and treat everyone with courtesy.To my country and my people, I pledge my devotion.In their well being and prosperity alone, lies my happiness”.

So, no Indian can ever forget this lesson and feel anything less in heart. It is just a matter of projection.

PROUD TO BE AN INDIAN!

Standard

Leave a Reply

